“Wouldn’t give nothing for the journey.”


Happy birthday to me!! Today I turn 45 years old. I’m very happy about that. Actually I’ve never been one to lie about or hide my age, but today I’m practically shouting it from the rooftop.

I’m very happy with my life right now, perhaps the happiest I’ve ever been. (The meds work!) This is particularly significant since 7 months ago I did not believe I’d ever feel happy again. The fear, anger and feeling of being trapped were too strong. I was wrong.

Today I’m thinking of some of the most powerful moments in my life:

when I stood, alphabetized by last name, in cap and gown at the Baccalaureate service the night before my graduation from college

when giving birth to my 1st child, who was breach, heading into surgery for a C-section and realizing it was a life and death situation and I was more concerned about his than mine

when I came up out of the baptismal water knowing I was a new creature

when I was 3 months pregnant with my daughter and decided that I had to go back to my verbally/emotionally abusive husband because I couldn’t even buy toothpaste. But I resolved that I’d get a job, keep it and save my money.

really understanding poverty when Kenyan children in Nairobi begged me for coins and called me a rich American

when I found out my mom lost our second home and most of my stuff had been left behind in their haste

when it occurred to me that perhaps my second husband could not be faithful

when I decided that no matter what happens (and some more jacked up stuff WILL happen) God has got me. I’ll be fine.

Paul wrote in Philippians 4:11 – 13 “Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. 12 I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. 13 For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” -NLT

I never really understood this scripture. But now I think I do. And it’s a great place to be. It requires focus and faith. (BTW it wouldn’t hurt to read that whole chapter. It is perhaps my favorite.)

My mother used to say from time to time, “Wouldn’t give nothing for the journey.” Today I can say the same. I’ve learned so much about myself, God’s love and humanity. And hey, I’ve got another 45 to go!

12 thoughts on ““Wouldn’t give nothing for the journey.”

  1. Happy Birthday! Loads of blessings for your next forty five. Thanks for sharing these moments from your journey. His light is shining through your writing. 🙂

  2. That is a beautiful post! And I recognize that quote, it is from Maya Angelou! So glad you are feeling well, and I loved reading your memories of significant life moments, simply beautiful. 🙂 (((Hugs)))

  3. I know an amazing, wonderful woman named Kartika! I cannot say how proud I am to know that you have broken through chains that bound you in all to familiar territory that many people, especially women who think that can’t make it through similar travels through their own lives and how reading or even hearing you speak will set them free! Keep it up, Keep writing, Keep your head up, Keep yourself free! Let me know when and where you are speaking! I would love to be there!

Leave a Reply

