My first display- part 2


Remaining nimble

“Hello.” said the grand mom-ish figure who appeared and sat at the computer. She didn’t look like a particularly nimble grand mom  How did she successfully navigate her office?

“You are interested in using one of the display cases? she asked.

“Yes, ma’am.”

We wrapped up the business and I carefully maneuvered out of the room.

Fast forward to the end of this February. The nimble g-mom calls to ask if I still want to do the display for the month of March. My first thought, “Drat, how did I forget about that?!” Second thought, “Of course! I can get something together in two days.”

I was pretty annoyed that with four months for preparation, I was going to be running around like headless poultry 48 hours before the display went up. But I’ve been preparing myself mentally to keep a nimble mind, so that I could hurdle unexpected situations and slip through narrow time frames to meet the opportunities on the other side.

My display went up on time and was beautiful. My website had a nice bump in traffic this month. The manuscript went off to the editors. Being angry and headless was only temporary.

Leave a Reply

